Google Wallet: Your bank account, loyalty cards and coupons roll into one

Since iPhone was introduced to the world for the first time, smartphones have conquered our lives so fast in many ways. You can share your life through social network services, test and voice chat with your friends with no SMS fee applied, find the best restaurant around you and check your email no matter where you are. Now, smartphone can serve your financial activities through Google Wallet.

Send money. Carry less, save more.

Image

Overall, what Google Wallet does is to allow you to send money to your friends, collect loyalty cards in the same virtual place, issues you coupons from the loyalty cards, provides convenient transaction for both online and offline. Wow, this does sound awesome! Now, I am going to discuss each feature of Google Wallet.

Send money from anywhere to whoever (in the US)

Image

Like the headline indicates, Google Wallet allows you to send money to your friends with email address regardless of receiver’s bank. In addition, when you send your money from your bank account or Google Wallet Balance. If you want to use your credit card or debit card, you have 2.5% of transaction fee, but the receiver will not be charged at all. No more bank checks! yay! Who knows? we will pay our utility bills with Google Wallet someday in the future.

Loyalty cards in one place

A few years ago, my key chain was huge. I had all different reward cards in addition to my house key and car key. When I bought my iphone, and I was excited about the passport feature. However, ranges of loyalty cards of passport was very limited, and I didn’t like it because the app design looked confusing. I stopped using it. I screenshot all the barcode of my reward cards and created a separate photo album, storing all the copies of loyalty cards.

Image

I thought that this was pretty smart, but there was a small flaw. You never know about your point or balance unless you log into each loyalty program. However, I don’t have to do this anymore because Google Wallet stores your loyalty card information. In addition to the fact that you would not miss any loyalty point, it issues coupon. Your email doesn’t have to suffer from piles of coupons anymore, and you can also use the right coupon at the right time.ImageImage

Online and offline shopping never can be easier

I enjoy shopping online. Before-smartphone era, I shopping on my laptop, but now my world has evolved. I do not really care which device I use to check out, my laptop, my ipad or my iphone. My behavior is backed up by many statistics that Shopping through mobile is increasing year to year. Many online stores (mobile stores) save your credit card information once you made a purchase. However, what if you are a new customer. Let’s say you were in bed, playing with your smartphone. You surf several mobile sites and find something interesting.  if you want to check out on a new online store(mobile store), you have to, first leave your bed, and need to go grab your wallet and punch your credit card number.  I am just giving a lazy example for the convenience of Google Wallet. Google Wallet offers another benefit that you don’t have to fill out a long form. All you have to do is find a click button saying ‘Buy with Google.’ This is that easy and convenient.

Image

Shopping convenient doesn’t stop here. You can also enjoy Google Wallet at offline stores. You don’t need to reach out to your wallet. Just handout your smartphone, and you can tap your phone to the machine. Unfortunately, this feature is available only with NFC-enabled phones, meaning no iphone.Image

The ultimate worry: is it safe?

I am not a technician, so I don’t know how safe Google Wallet can be. However, Google’s brand image being a reliable company mitigates my concern. Also, we are in the initial stage of virtual wallet service like the number of smartphone users were lesser than the feature phone users, or even smaller than the number of folder phone users. Time will reduce people’s concerns and encourage the use of Google Wallet.

Image

This entry was posted in Digital Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

